Importing from Google Scholar

I need to import around 4000 citations from Google Scholar into Zotero. I understand that adding each of these into My Library individually, and then downloading all of these as BibTex is the usual way of doing this, but this is cumbersome and google scholar doesn't let this happen easily, as it recognizes my efforts at a robotic search.
Just wondering if there is an easier way around?
  • edited May 16, 2024
    You don't say how you arrived at the 4000 number or what you will do with the records when you download them but my team and I have lots of experience with this sort of thing. GS is essential to my daily work.

There are work-arounds:

See: https://www.zotero.org/support/kb/site_access_limits

I don't use the work-around described above because it doesn't really save time if you also want to get PDF documents.

The way to get the most accurate and complete metadata for those 4000 items is to follow the GS link to the publisher's' websites and import to Zotero. GS has improved accuracy of its metadata over what it was a few years ago but there are still frequent egregious errors including wrong journal, wrong volume, omitted authors, etc. GS harvests its contents (at least in part) from OCRs of the reference lists of papers it finds online.

GS will treat you as a bot much sooner than 500 direct download records much less 4000. It will (seemingly) never treat you as a bot if you link to the publisher in a new tab -- the few seconds to capture the metadata and file from the publisher will keep you safe. I've worked this way with GS to find items on the publisher's websites. Some publisher sites respond in a second or two and you can import a record in another second or two. Other publishers' sites are slow. Doing this one-by-one (if our experience -averaging 7-8 seconds per item-- will be yours) that would be a bit more than 8 worker hours.