Zotero is a great piece of software but slow and clunky

I have a decent mbp 2017 15" 16 Gb RAM, i7 4-cores
It is not a slow machine
It is running the latest version of Big Sur 11.15.1 at the time of writing
I'm using Word for Mac and the file has over 500 citations with 300 bibliographic entries. Inserting a citation takes a good 2 minutes. It is slow.
In the end, following some comments in the forums, I switched to Windows and Word for Windows, It is not much better and still takes too much time (about 1 minute). If I insert 30 citations a day, that's already 30 minutes of work wasted.
It is easy to simply blame the add in on Microsoft, but as a seasoned developer myself, I know that there are ways to improve speed and usability. Please test your product on a 20 Mb word file with 1000s of citations and see how the speed is. There has to be a better way to improve inserting the citations and bibliography.
  • as a seasoned developer myself, I know that there are ways to improve speed and usability
    Great, then submit a patch. Otherwise, you have no idea what you're talking about.

Word for Mac is drastically slower than Word for Windows for what Zotero needs to do. We get very few complaints about the speed of Word integration on Windows, even with very large documents.

For a large document, disable automatic updates and inserting a citation should be more or less instantaneous, at least on Windows.
  • MacWord and large documents is terribly slow even when Zotero isn't used. Word for Windows with Zotero works great on a Mac that has Boot Camp or an emulator such as Parallels. Word for Windows on an Intel Mac is quite fast (even with a large Zotero document with many citations).
  • @dstillman I'm using Word for Windows and it's still slow
    so perhaps you should submit a patch, maybe you do have no idea what you're talking about

@DWL-SDCA I'm using Parallels and the performance improvement is minimal