Can't Find My Database after Moving to New Computer

Hi, I just got a new computer (MacBook Air 2020 M1, running MacOS Big Sur).

I used the apple migration tool to move everything from my old computer (a 2015 Macbook Air) to the new computer.

However, when I opened Zotero, there was nothing in there. It said that the folder it was directed towards didn't have a database.

So, I found a Time Machine backup of my Zotero file and copied it all over. Then, I pointed Zotero on my M1 Mac to the Old file folder. Still nothing showed.

Currently I have sqlite files as follows:
- zotero-october2020.sqlite from October 1, 2020 that is 8.7 MB
- zotero.sqlite from February 2, 2021 that is 975 mb.

I was able to find a storage folder in my Time machine backup that has lots of other subfolders.

My current data directory is in the default location.

I've never used Zotero on this computer before.
  • When's the last time you actually used Zotero on the other computer? Migration Assistant should've copied your files exactly as they were. If you recently used some sort of disk-cleaning tool — including the built-in macOS tool — you might have simply deleted the database by mistake. We've had a number of recent reports of people doing that.
    Currently I have sqlite files as follows:
    - zotero-october2020.sqlite from October 1, 2020 that is 8.7 MB
    - zotero.sqlite from February 2, 2021 that is 975 mb.
    I assume you mean KB, not MB? That is, an empty database?

Are these located in the default data directory? Is there a 'storage' folder there containing subfolders from your past usage of Zotero?

Basically, if you have an empty zotero.sqlite database and a 'storage' folder with files, you almost certainly just deleted the .sqlite database by mistake, perhaps while trying to free space.