Advice for indexing and syncing files

Hello,
I apologise for an seemingly obvious topic, but I would like some advice to help me get something "right" the first time I use it (to save me from getting lost half way through a massive project). I would like some information on how to work out my Zotero library, but I would also appreciate some suggestions or insight as to how academics maintain their own system.

About me:
I'm a 5th year phd student, having gone through multiple organisation strategies over the years. I am now thinking of settling with a setup of Scrivener, zotero, and Evernote. I study Japanese politics, so half of my resources are English, half are Japanese. I have so many subfolders of topics, such as Politics>Public Policy>Policymaking>NetworkTheory... etc. So I've deciced to move away from the folder hierarchy and try a single directory using tags for sorting.
Files names are a joke for me. Initially I had no system, but after a while I decided to go with "Title (Surname, Date)". I thought this was fine, but felt that it was prisoner to the folder hierarchy system. So now I am shifting to single folders (Politics, History, etc with no subfolders), and using "Name (date) Title".

What I want to do with my files:
I would like to index my pdfs to Zotero, but I would like some advice on how to move files. I do not want to use zotero storage (I would prefer the free version, and my files add up to more than 300 mb, so indexing is the only option right now).

My set up is Mac OSX, and I will be keeping my pdfs (and other documents) in a single location on my hard drive. At the moment, I have hundreds of pdfs across numerous folders, but I would like to centralise them to make them easy to find.