Zotero Data Directory migration (has files, but shows blank)

Hello and sorry if this has been asked before (I did my best to check, but found nothing, if the answer to my question has a link, please let me know).

I started using Zotero around 2014-2016 and even have a synchronized account under this username (except it doesn't seem to have the pdf files anymore). Last I recall I was using it with the Zotero standalone of that time (can't recall the version, but it was around 2015). At some point, I stopped using it but had tons of notes attached to the PDFs that I studied. I decided I'd save my data folder because I wanted to use it later.
Fast forward to today.
I downloaded the latest version (5.0.58 mac 10.13.6 highsierra) and tried to point Zotero to the directory (it was not in the home location but in a google drive directory that I'd intended to share with other machines, but not yet, at least not till this works). Zotero seems to know the data directory is correct because it does not complain when I select it. This directory has the following files
zotero.sqlite (5.1mb)
zotero.sqlite-journal (426.6kb)
zotero.sqlite.1.bak (1.1mb)
zotero.sqlite.77.bak (1.1mb)
zotero.sqlite.bak (5.1mb)
ZoteroTemp.rdf (1.4mb)
and the following folders
files , locate , pipes , styles , translators
I read on some troubleshooters there should be another folder, but this is all i have.
my pdf files are all in the 'files' directory and it seems the ZoteroTemp.rdf file has copies of my notes (seems like it).
the problem is when I open up my Zotero program with this data file that it seems to know exists, the "My Library" folder (the only one that shows up) is the one you get when the program is new without data ("empty"). there is no sign of any of my pdfs or my notes.
I was even wondering if maybe my sqlite file was somehow overwritten with one that tells it it's empty despite having my pdfs there!