PDF Indexing in halted in FF6 (Report ID 1065217827)

I am running Ubuntu 10.10, and have installed the PPA for the stable channel of Firefox (currently FF6). However, I noticed that my PDF indexing stopped working after the last stable upgrade.

I am aware that the PDF indexing honors the security on PDFs -- as such, the PDF in the Report ID 1065217827 was double checked to be sure that it is completely open for content to be copied, etc. However, I also noticed that Zotero appears to be unable to get to a required file (the FF6 chrome manifest?).

I'm sure that this error has something to do with pointing zotero to the some correct file location or perhaps with permissions for that same file. However, I'm relatively new to Linux -- so would appreciate some specific instructions (e.g., command line) on how to reconnect everything to make PDF indexing operational again.

I am up against a deadline, so assistance will be extremely welcome!
  • Can't really tell you why it's not indexing that file, but the most common causes are security on the PDF and extended characters in the name. You can run Firefox from the console and see if there's an error from pdftotext and also try running the given command line manually.
    However, I also noticed that Zotero appears to be unable to get to a required file (the FF6 chrome manifest?).
    That message doesn't have anything to do with Zotero.
  • Also, are you sure this is for all files, or just some?
  • The reason I thought it was having trouble getting to a required file was that the initial error in Zotero reads:

Could not read chrome manifest file '/usr/lib/firefox-6.0/extensions/{972ce4c6-7e08-4474-a285-3208198ce6fd}/chrome.manifest'.

This is then followed by a number of PDF indexing errors, such as:

[JavaScript Error: "Iivari et al. - 1998 - A Paradigmatic Analysis Contrasting Information Sy.pdf was not indexed" {file: "chrome://zotero/content/xpcom/fulltext.js" line: 486}]