Problems with In text citation format

I am trying to use some of the American Physiological Society Journal formatting.
They are all the same. American Journal of Physiology (various subsets) and Journal of Applied Physiology. The formatting of the in text citation seems to use the format from whatever previous citation was run. For example, they should use (1,2,3) formatting (based on alphabetical order) but sometimes they are in superscript numbers, sometimes names, etc. I am new to Zotero (but trying to teach it to my students in a class). Is there something I am missing? or do these need editing.
  • how do you insert them in the text? Which word processor? Which plugin? Which Zotero?
    I't not a problem of the styles, no - they can be wrong (though I wrote them and I think they're not) - but even if they are wrong the in text citations would be consistent.
  • AdamSmith
    Thanks for getting back to me so quickly. So, I insert them I think in the usual way. That is, I am using WORD Add-in and I insert the specific reference, etc. That all seems to work. I am using Zotero 2.0.

It just checked all of the American Physiological Society Journals. They all refer back to
    <link rel="source" href="http://www.zotero.org/styles/american-physiological-society/dev"/> There are several things that don't work. First, the in text citation does not change its format from the previous Style. Second, the order list and the numbering in the bibliography should always be alphebetical. Hope this is fixable.
  • yes, they are all dependent styles - all journals follow the same template that's correct, right?
    They should all sort alphabetically, too.
    The style has been tested pretty extensively,
    http://forums.zotero.org/discussion/8731/style-request-journal-of-applied-physiology/
    so something else is going on here, some problem with your Zotero at some point.