Modify RIS

Is it possible to end the RIS export feed? I'd like to add a new field and I'm not sure how to go about doing this? I installed the Better BibTex add-on, which is awesome BTW, and I'd like to have the Citation Key exported win the RIS. Would this be possible? If so, how would I go about doing this?
  • @emilianoeheyns are BBT citekeys exposed to regular translators? If so, how?
  • The item returned from nextItem() inside the translator has a citationKey field when BBT is installed. This is available to all translators.
  • Thanks. So, how would one go about modify the RIS translator to "citationKey". I'm new to this. The process is not clear to me. I saw the Scaffold tool, but I"m not sure what to modify or how.
  • I think it's as easy as adding
    LB:"citationKey", in the field map here:
    https://github.com/zotero/translators/blob/master/RIS.js#L177 (it's placement isn't relevant. That will put it into LB which is RIS label. You can use any other two letter combo that isn't already taken up for RIS, too.

You can modify the RIS translator in Scaffold/Translator Editor -- I'd recommend creating a separate copy with a different ID and a slightly different name, so your version won't be overwritten with RIS updates.

Then make sure to click the "Save to Zotero" (not the regular save) button in Scaffold. Note that you can't test export in Scaffold, so you'd have to do that straight from Zotero.

I hope that's enough detail. Try it out and ask for help if you get stuck.
  • After a few false stars I actually got it working. :) I needed to add the citationkey ref. in two places and the LB tag in two others. All good. Not exactly sure what I'm doing, but it worked. :) Thanks.
  • After getting this to work, I'm not finding the Zotero is crashing about 50% of the time after I export and RIS citation. Is there a way I can send in a crash log so that you can see what might be wrong.