Using a non-Zotero source in a footnote & stopping "Ibid" right after from Zotero.

Is there any way to restart so it doesn't put "Ibid" if interrupted by a non-Zotero source in a footnote? I've ran into this with two circumstances and don't know how other than de-linking Zotero and manually editing.

In one section, I am repeatedly citing the same source. However, once I cite somehting that source quotes so I wrote out that citation followed by "Quoted in" and let Zotero do "ibid..." Then the next quote says "Ibid," which it should not.

Another time I cite a standard reference work in the field that has a standard abrevaition so I typed it myself. However when I cited the same source as just before Zotero put an Ibid.

I'm sorry if this sounds like a newbie question, I'm just getting into big enough research that I feel I need to learn a manager like Zotero.
  • So you are saying that you have

23 Zotero citation
    24 Something else you write
    25 ibid.

I don't think that should be happening. ibid should only appear in directly consecutive footnotes. There's no manual override, though, I'm afraid.
  • Thanks adamsmith! The biggest difficulty was when I had the following (which wqas my first case above, which happened twice - case 2, which was more like what you explained,only happened once and it could have easily been a freak error of my own):

23 Zotero Citation
    24 Something else entered manually... quoted in: "Ibid., 35" via Zotero
    25 "Ibid., 38" via Zotero