Firefox only saving to Standalone as a Webpage

So I have Zotero Standalone and the Firefox add on installed. They were working fine until suddenly the Firefox button no longer saves as a citation. When I go to pages with the PDF instead of saving as a journal article, it will only save as a web page.

When I click the Z in the address bar I get this error: "Zotero Standalone was launched but is not accessible. If you experienced an error opening Zotero Standalone, restart Firefox."

I have restarted Firefox, restarted Zotero, opened Firefox first, opened Zotero first, nothing is working and it's really frustrating! I am not tech savvy at all, so any help is appreciated!
  • could you please provide
    1) the version numbers of Zotero both Standalone and the Firefox add-on
    2) an error report ID from Zotero standalone
    https://www.zotero.org/support/reporting_problems#provide_a_report_id
  • edited April 13, 2016
    So when I go to the error report in the actions menu it says "No errors have been logged since Zotero started."

As for versions, it looks like the Firefox Add on is 4.0.29.7 (I tried to reinstall the add-in when it stopped working so it's updated through today) and the Standalone is 4.0.29.5.
  • Went back again and now I have the following error:

[JavaScript Error: "1460579794294 Toolkit.Telemetry ERROR TelemetryStorage::loadAbortedSessionPing - error removing ping: PingReadError JS Stack trace: PingReadError@TelemetryStorage.jsm:80:15 < TelemetryStorageImpl.loadPingFile<@TelemetryStorage.jsm:1440:13" {file: "resource://gre/modules/Log.jsm" line: 749}]
  • OK, start by trying if this works with just Firefox. Close down Standalone, make sure it's not running anymore, then try saving directly to Zotero in Firefox. Does that work?
  • Yes, it saves correctly if standalone is closed.
  • OK, start Standalone. Make sure it's still not working properly. Then try this URL in Firefox
    http://127.0.0.1:23119/connector/ping