Importing EndNote libaray, INCLUDING PDF attachments

I'm new to Zotero. I've spent the last 4 hours using the "search" feature of these forums and of the support section of the Zotero site. I have an EndNote library which is full of PDF attachments. I would like to import this library as well as all the attached PDFs into Zotero. It it true that this is impossible to do at the current time? (The library is large and the labour involved with manually re-attaching each of the PDF files from within Zotero really is not-at-all feasible.)
Huge thanks in advance for your advice,
Cameron
  • Zotero's RIS import does have the ability to import PDFs and Endnote does export links to your PDFs in the RIS files it generates. The problem is that Endnote does not give the full path to the file.

You should be able to import all the PDFs by using a single find and replace statement.

You will want to find
    internal-pdf://
    And then replace it with
    file://location/where/endnote/stores/your/pdfs
  • Excellent: I followed your instructions and the import worked like a charm! Thank you! (Incidentially, giving a relative path didn't work. Giving an absolute directory path worked right away.)
  • Hi--I'm clearly less computer literate than you guys. Could you please elaborate where exactly I need to look for internal-pdf:// ?

Thanks so much in advance--
    Kay
  • In EndNote, you need to export your library using the RIS (Refman) style. It should be exported as a text document. Search thus text document for the string "internal-pdf://" and replace that string with "file://C:/location/where/endnote/stores/your/pdfs". (This type of directory structure is for Windows C: drive. Obviously, for the various flavours of unix, you won't be pointing to a C: drive.)