Student Research Project

I am a college professor, and I had the idea to incorporate Zotero into the coursework by requiring students to create a library in which they gather all of the bibliographic information, notes and attachments from their research and then submit it to me for a grade. Requiring them to keep records of their work will (I hope!) help them to develop good research skills and to see the value of keeping track when they need the information at write up time.
HOWEVER! I just bought a new computer and am in the process of trying to transfer my large library (1600 entries, more than haf with attachments) and I am more than dismayed to discover how difficult it is to transfer. I still haven't figured out how to get it done. The online instruction tell how to find the right folder to transfer, but it doesn't say how to pull the data into the program on the new computer. I am appalled that Zotero hasn't addressed this as people change computers on a regular basis these days.
So, in addition to welcoming helpful hints about how to open my library on the new comouter, I would also like ideas aobut how students would submit copies of their own libraries for me to view and grade. I thought they would export the files and I could open them in my program, but apparently it is more complicated than that. HELP!
  • To transfer your full library, you would first back it up, then restore it from the backup on the new computer. If your library is not too large, or you want to buy online storage, the simpler solution is to simply sync.