Zotero integration error

Hello, I have been using zotero for several years and have never had this problem before, but I recently updated my firefox and now when I try to use zotero in word, I get a message saying "zotero integration error Zotero could not load the component required to communicate with your word processor. Please ensure that the appropriate extension is installed and try again."

How do I know what extension I need, and could you direct me to where to find it?

Thank you!

Angela
  • we'd need to know the version numbers of all relevant software involved (Zotero, Firefox, Zotero Word add-on, Word).
  • OK here is that information:

Zotero version 4.0.25.2
    Firefox 35.0.1
    Word Mac 2011 14.4.5
    Word add-on - where would I find this information?

Thanks
  • under about:addons in Firefox (copy/paste that into the URL bar and hit return).
  • ok it looks like I have a few, not sure which ones are relevant:

zotero scholar citations 1.8.8
    zotero automatic export 1.1.8
    zotero 4.0.25.2
    zotfile 4.1.2
  • looks like you're just missing the Word add-on. Install from here:
    https://www.zotero.org/support/word_processor_plugin_installation#microsoft_word
  • Thank you will do!
  • I tried to download the word add-on and it said "cannot open the file because parts are corrupt or invalid"
  • try from a different browser and/or try emptying your cache. The add-on is fine.
  • It worked! Thanks very much.
    Angela
  • Hi
    I am having the same issue. I have used Zotero without problem for over a year, but now since my computer updated to Firefox v36 I receive the following error in word when I attempt to use the add-on:

Zotero could not load the component required to communicate with your word processor. Please ensure that the appropriate extension is installed and try again.

The versions of everything I have installed are as follows:
    Zotero 4.0.26.1
    Zotero for word add –on integration 3.1.18