Stupid new user multiple author style question

I'm new to zotero. I wanted to export my bibliography, so I right clicked, chose a style, and then put it on my clipboard and then into my document. No matter what style I choose, I only get the first author, rather than multiple authors. I can't find anywhere to change the number of authors. I've watched the demos, read the forums - still can't figure it out. Help! Also, is there an option of "translator"? Thanks.
  • I can't help you with the first part, but for "translator", click on the word "Author" (in the right pane) and you will get a list of options. Translator should be one of them.
  • edited February 18, 2009
    Hmm - don't know, can't replicate that. E.g. the citation below is created by selecting the respective citation in Zotero, right-click, create bibliograph, select "American Sociologal Association" and copy to clipboard, then paste here:

Gerring, John, Phillip Bond, William T Barndt, and Carola Moreno. 2005. “Democarcy and Economic Growth. A Historical Perspective.” World Politics 57:323-364.

Each style has a defined way of dealing with multiple authors - some abbreviate more than three to et al., some only do that in citations but not in the bibliography etc.

One thought: maybe you have Authors put in the wrong way? You should see 4 lines, each of which says "Author:" right below the title of the respective work.

As for how do you change this, even that is possible
    Open:
    chrome://zotero/content/tools/csledit.xul
    then select the style you want to change. Let's say we stay with the ASA style. Somewhere pretty far down, you'll find these lines:
    <bibliography>
    <option name="hanging-indent" value="true"/>
    <option name="et-al-min" value="6"/>
    <option name="et-al-use-first" value="1"/>