PDF with references - automatic retrieval

Hi,
I'm a scientific librarian working in a school with bachelor students but also with researchers.
Zotero is perfect for students and the way they are collecting references.
However, our researchers usually collect 200 references at the same time from different databases. Now they are using EndnoteX5, because zotero has no equivalent to the function "Find full text". When researchers click this function, Endnote automatically searches for the PDF and associates it to the reference. It takes time but works well and researchers can work on something else in the meantime.
The OpenUrl in zotero works also well BUT PDF have to be manually associated to the reference. It doesn't match with our researchers' way of working.
Could a plugin be created for zotero, corresponding to this function "Find full text" in Endnote ?
Thanks a lot !
  • this is generally planned, but not going to happen very soon. That said, Zotero will download PDFs automatically from many - most - databases on import. Where are people importing from so that that doesn't work?
  • F.e., Zotero imports from EBSCO only PDF that are put just under the reference (visible), not the PDF we can obtain by clicking on the link "OvidLinkSolver". In ERIC/OvidSP, I made a test with a research by topic. On 80 results, Endnote retrieved 75 PDF with the option "Find full text". Zotero retrieved no one. It's not a question of copyright since we have a licence for most of the journals for these 80 results.
    Endnote only put a pop-up box but retrieved the PDF with the Ovid references. I also asked this question to Ovid.
    Thanks !
  • true, I don't think there's currently a way to get PDFs from OVID (or any PDFs that require an additional resolver)
  • I'll let you know about OVID's answer.
  • I would add the demand for ISI Web of Knowledge too.

And a big UP for such a feature (getting the PDF from an existing item having a DOI) in Zotero!