Query Limit reached?

I am new to using the standalone program. I have been using the retrieve metadata function for the PDFs and I received an error that said query limit reached try again later. Can someone explain what this means and what try again later means (e.g. the time limit I would have to wait?) Thanks
  • Zotero queries google scholar (among other sources) to retrieve metadata for PDFs. Google scholar has a mechanisms that locks you out when it suspects you're a bot - i.e. when you make a large number of rapid requests.
    Since this isn't something that Zotero does, we can't give you exact information on how long it will take until this works again for you. Usually less than a day. You may be able to just try if you can use scholar.google.com
  • I, too, am new to using the standalone program. I was trying to integrate all the old PDFs I had on my computer (probably a few hundred), and I triggered this message. Only problem is that it has been well over a day and I still cannot retrieve metadata. I can use Google Scholar just fine, although I usually have to submit a captcha first.
  • unfortunately, we have no influence on the types of restrictions google scholar imposes. If you have a way to change your IP adress (e.g. move to another network or so) that would likely work.
  • I just ran into this problem too. I started using Zotero yesterday and today I uploaded ~100 PDFs from one of my directories and asked it to retrieve metadata for them. Bang! Google Scholar shut me down. Now I need to jump to another IP (and potentially get that one blocked) or wait until some unspecified later time (date? year?) to continue developing this aspect of my Zotero collections.