Syncing is taking many hours; generating thousands of conflicts

We had a lot of trouble with syncing a group library, and 4201 conflicts were generated! I could not process each individual conflict, so our team members decided to return to working from our individual, local libraries.

I am attempting to sync again after deleting all that I could from the shared library. Approximately 8,000 entries were moved to the trash in the group library. Currently, the sync green arrow has been cycling for at least 3 hours. How long should a sync take? How do I know if it is hung up? There is an indication that the last sync occurred 3 days ago even though a dialog box comes up pretty consistently indicating it is syncing.

I've found zotero really frustrating to use so far, and am hoping it gets easier. I am an experienced researcher and have used extensively used other web-based software for the purpose of sharing libraries and eliminating duplicates.

thanks for any advice!
  • edited April 11, 2013
    You have a very large upload (25MB) stalled on the server. I can reset it and have it try again, but that's a very large amount of data, and it may be difficult to get it to go through at once.
    Approximately 8,000 entries were moved to the trash in the group library.
    Did you empty the trash? If not, that's likely the problem.

Let me know once you've cleared the trash and I can reset the upload.
  • Thanks Dan,

After several tries with Firefox crashing, I was finally able to empty the trash on a Group Library.

It would be helpful to know for the future an estimate of the maximum number of allowable records for a Group Library. Please let me know when I should try to sync again.
  • edited April 15, 2013
    After several tries with Firefox crashing, I was finally able to empty the trash on a Group Library.