MLZ

I am new to Zotero. I tried adding a citation in word 2008 (mac) using MLZ and Oscola as referencing style and although the case ref has the year, this is what i got:
‘Doodeward v Spence’ (no date) 406 6 (note)
I selected the right referencing style, so I don't know what I am doing wrong..PLS advise?

Also, I am a bit confused about using MLZ. Is MLZ web use only? I am ok with that, but then should I go ahead and delete the stand-alone - or can you sync the two?
(I am importing from Endnote, so data is safe in Endnote at the moment)
If I keep the Standalone Zotero, how do I know which database my word plug-in is using? Apologies if questions appear daft
  • With MLZ, use the MLZ Oscola style at http://citationstylist.org/tools.

The discrepancy in date handling is a little annoying when first encountered, but there is logic behind it. A published court judgement might have two dates -- a date of decision and a date of publication. Both may be used in a citation, and the two sometimes differ. Zotero assigns the "Decision Date" field on the Case type to the citation processor's "issued" date. There is no field for the publication date. This leads to problems.

For logical consistency (which is important, over the long term), in the MLZ citation styles I've set "Decision Date" field to map to the citation processor's "original-date" variable, with the (optional) date of publication set on the "issued" variable. The difference in assignments is what gives you the error in the Oscola style from the main CSL repo. If you use the MLZ Oscola style, the date assignments will match up, and citations will come out correctly.