Multiple place of publication

Hi
I'm new to Zotero, and I just wondered how to enter a reference when a book has multiple places of publication. For example, the book in front of me is Princeton University Press, Princeton & Oxford.
There doesn't seem to be an option to add an additional Place field, the way there is with Author. And yet it doesn't seem right to enter "Princeton & Oxford" as a single string.
What do other people recommend?
Thanks
Dennis
  • I would "enter 'Princeton & Oxford' as a single string."
  • edited February 22, 2010
    You are right, this is the only way. If I want to enter more than one place, I just do it as you suggest.

Some large publishers have many places. For example, the book in front of me has five 'places'. "Penguin Books, Harmondsworth, Middlesex; Baltimore, Md; Toronto, Ontario; Mitcham, Victoria & Cape Town" seems excessive.

So usually I just choose the main one, so for Penguin I'd use Harmondsworth, Middlesex and for Princeton University Press I would just put Princeton. I think this is fine for most purposes.
  • I'm always entering places in the single field. Same for publishers (a related question, I think)
    And yet it doesn't seem right to enter "Princeton & Oxford" as a single string.
    Why? The only problem which might arise is that of citation output. But it depends on the style...
  • I don't like that I have to enter multiple places like this. Different citation styles require different delimiters for multiple places and this 'method' requires manual changes if the delimiter used for entry is different from the one required by the style. Happened to me more than once before and is a pain in the butt.
    IMHO The most logical way to deal with this would be the same approach as used for multiple 'people' (authors etc). I would definitely welcome this change.