Feature Request: Library Statistics

I'm fairly new to Zotero, and still wondering if it can work as a replacement for Endnote.

I moved all of my references over from Endnote, and I've been experimenting with Zotero. It's very appealing, but I've tripped over a number of missing features, some of which are pretty basic.

For example, Endnote always tells me how many references are in a library, and how many I'm viewing at any given moment. I've looked for similar functionality in Zotero, but I can't find it.

Is there some way to simply find out how many references are in the Library, a Collection, or a set of Search results? If there is, I'm not seeing it. If there isn't, it seems like something that should be added.

It would be great if this were shown in the UI, and also as part of a minimal report for a library or a collection, i.e., I select a library or a collection, pick "Statistics" from the pop-up menu, and then the browser would then show a minimal report that just includes the name of the library/collection, creation date, number of items, attachments, etc.

Right now, I have a collection called "Imported Tue Mar 11 15:01:33 2009". I want to rename this to something sensible, but then I would lose this bit of information.

Zotero has lots of features for massaging metadata, and so I'm a bit surprised that it doesn't allow me to see the metadata for its library and collections.
  • how many items in your library:
    click on your library.
    Go to the middle panel and select all (ctrl+a or cmd+a)
    The right panel will tell you.
    Same works for collections etc.

Every item has a date added and modified field.
    I'm not sure for why you'd want the creation date in a collection, but for what it's worth, a standalone note at the top of the collection would be one way of doing that.

No simple way to count the number of attachments - but you can do that by combining a saved search for all attachments with the procedure outlined above.