Handling legislation/statutes outside the US

Hi there,

In the Australian legal style, we usually put in the jurisdiction which passed the statute in the citation. For example:

s1 Statute of Monopolies 1623 (UK)

I can't really see a field which would be suitable for this purpose. I don't really want to put it in the Author field, as in a bibliography, it should be sorted by Act name (as per the Case type). Would it be possible to add a Jurisdiction field to the Statute type, or is there another (preferred) way to handle jurisdictions?
  • For that matter, I can't actually get the CSL to match on type="bill" (or legislation) either.
  • @antonh: I'm not a Zotero developer, but I have had a big role in two related pieces (CSL, and the RDF ontology they use for import/export). From my perspective:

Bad news: legal support is still a work in progress.

Good news: since it's a work in progress, there's room for "domain experts" like you to help.

I think Zotero probably needs to add a jurisdiction field, and that you've found a bug or two in the CSL handling.

You might also look at the RDF ontology I mentioned for comments. We have no specific "jurisdiction" property, but I'm assuming we can rely on the dcterms:coverage property.
  • @bdarcus: As far as bad news goes, it's not too bad. I'm pretty happy with nearly everything. I could probably live with manually entering statutes in.

But I'm happy to be more involved, even though I'm more at home with Python than Javascript & XPCOM. But I'm happy to dive in and start looking for the source of the problems I've found - my only real concern is about how to run a development version of the extension as well as the one I need for my thesis on the same computer. Is that possible?

I've had a look at the RDF ontology as you suggested. It certainly seems to have everything covered. I think you're right about using the dcterms:coverage property rather than adding an extra field.