Importing from ProCite to Zotero Standalone

Hi,

I'm new to Zotero, and trying to import my references from ProCite into Zotero standalone. I downloaded the RIS_Endnote style, and saved my refs in that style as a text only file. However, when I try to import into Zotero, it says "File format not supported". Here is a sample ref:

TY - JOUR
A1 - Artursson, Veronica
A1 - Finlay, Roger D.
A1 - Jansson, Janet K.
T1 - Combined bromodeoxyuridine immunocapture and terminal-restriction fragment length polymorphism analysis highlights differences in the active soil bacterial metagenome due to Glomus mosseae inoculation or plant species
JF - Environmental Microbiology
PY - 2005
VL - 7
IS - 12
SP - 1952-1966
UR - http://www.blackwell-synergy.com/doi/abs/10.1111/j.1462-2920.2005.00868.x
KW - BrdU, TRFLP, AMF, bacteria, 16S, plant effects
ER -

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
  • There's a modified RIS importer you can try--
    Please go to http://github.com/ajlyon/zotero-bits/raw/master/RIS.js and save the file to the translators directory of your Zotero data directory (http://www.zotero.org/support/zotero_data).

If this works for you, please post here so that I can get this version out to all users.
  • It worked!! Thanks a million. I'm delighted to get it going. :)

Funnily enough, there was a RIS.js file already in the directory. It asked if I wanted to replace it, and I said yes. So maybe there was something wrong with the old file?
  • yeah - ajlyon gave you an updated version - of course there was an RIS translator (that worked for almost everyone, but not in your case) before.
  • Actually, this version has been in the Zotero repository for a while -- but it hasn't been pushed to clients yet... Hopefully this backlog will be cleared soon.
  • I'm also new and struggling to import references from Procite. Downloading RIS_Endnote style didn't help so I tried to follow ajlyon's instructions. Two problems: