Group Library and My Library Interconnections

I'm a graduate student, I love Zotero, and I'm using it to generate a literature reiew reading list in consultation with some faculty. I don't know how many people do that, but I think it's not a particularly atypical use case. Now, Zotero documentation says:
Note that group libraries are wholly separate from My Library. Any items dragged into them are separate copies and changes to the items will not be reflected in your own copy of the item until you drag it back into My Library.
So here's my problem: my faculty and I are constantly updating and adding to/modifying my reading list as we go along. So consider the following scenarios, where M is My Library, A is my Advisor's library, and G is the group's library:

Four Possible Use Cases, and Why I'm a Sad Panda in All of Them

1. I add 10 files to M. I copy them to G. My advisor says "You should also read these 25 exhaustingly dense papers I just found. I'm adding them to G!" He downloads the files into A, and has to copy them into G. Meanwhile, how might I get just the 25 new files into M?

2. I find a few more papers, add them to M. Then, I forget to separately copy them to G. Now, my advisor's copy of G never updates. He eventually thinks I've stopped searching the literature, gets angry, makes fun of how I dress, and I cry in fragile shame.